Joel Denbo, Chief Manager

Joel Denbo is Chief Manager—Operations of Tennessee Valley Recycling LLC.

He graduated from the University of Texas at Austin in 1976 with a degree in Business Administration. Upon his graduation, he joined Denbo Iron & Metal Co., Inc. of which he is now president.  He has served in local business and civic organizations throughout his career.  He served as Chair of the Institute of Scrap Recycling Industries (ISRI), a national trade association, from 2004-2006. He previously served in other capacities both regionally and nationally for that organization and continues to serve as a National Board Member. In 2006, he was recognized by the Bureau of International Recycling (BIR) with its Certificate of Merit for his “support of and commitment to the international recycling industry.”


Solomon Miller is Chief Manager—Administration of Tennessee Valley Recycling LLC. 

He graduated from Vanderbilt University in 1976 Phi Beta Kappa, with a Bachelor of Arts degree, and received his J.D. from Cornell Law School in 1979. He practiced law with the Nashville, Tennessee firm Dearborn & Ewing before joining L. Miller & Son, Inc., a predecessor company of TVR, of which he is president. He has served as an officer and board member of many local and civic organizations throughout his career. He is a member of the bars of Alabama and Tennessee.

Morley Denbo, Co-Chairman

Morley Denbo (1927 – 2016)

He served in the United States Navy during WWII, and attended the University of Alabama after his discharge. In 1947, he joined Twin City Iron & Metal Company of Bristol, Tennessee, and was employed there until he purchased what is now Denbo Iron & Metal Company, Inc. of Decatur, Alabama in 1950. Not only has he been prominent in local business and civic activities, but he has also served at regional and national levels in the Institute of Scrap Recycling Industries, a national trade association, and its predecessors. In 2004, he was profiled in Scrap magazine as a leader in the recycling industry.  He was presented ISRI’s Lifetime Achievement Award in 2007 for his contributions to the recycling industry.

Key Personnel

    • Donald Denbo, Member, Executive Committee
    • Albert L. Sykes, Jr., CPA, MIM, Member, Executive Committee
    • Foster Bailey, Manager, Decatur Division
    • Joseph G. “Chip” Kelley, Jr., Director of Raw Material Procurement
    • Barry Parks, Transportation Manager
    • Jeff Dumes, Director of Nonferrous Metals and Manager Huntsville Division
    • Stewart Miller, General Manager, Pulaski Division
    • Alan Springer, Manager, Recovery Division