State Purchasing Laws

HIGHLIGHTS OF 2012 ALABAMA LAW REGULATING THE PURCHASE OF SCRAP METAL

Download PDF

HIGHLIGHTS OF 2012 ALABAMA LAW REGULATING THE PURCHASE OF SCRAP METAL

(This is meant only as a guide to the highlights of this law, not as legal advice. We make no guarantee as to the accuracy of this information. Neither TVR nor any of its employees is able give legal advice. This information is subject to change without notice.)

TVR operates all its Alabama locations in full compliance with this law.

To sell scrap metal in Alabama you must present a DRIVER’S LICENSE or state-issued IDENTITY CARD issued by one of the fifty United States. Foreign licenses and IDs are not acceptable. Instead of a driver’s license or state ID, you may present a valid WORK AUTHORIZATION CARD issued by US Immigration Services.

We are required to take several photographs during your visit to an Alabama TVR location to sell scrap metal. You must be at least 18 years old to sell scrap metal.

We must pay BY CHECK in the following non-commercial (that is, if the seller is not a business) transactions:

    • Over $50 for copper.
    • Over $500 for all other scrap.

We must write the check out in the name of the person who is selling the material.

If you are a commercial seller, we may require you to present a copy of your state business license.

These are some of the items that TVR cannot buy from the general public:

    • Telephone and electric cable, cable TV wire, manhole covers, water meter covers, storm drain covers, street lights, railroad iron, road and bridge guard rails, highway and street signs, metal beer kegs, unused/undamaged building construction or utility materials, metal from cemeteries.
    • We do not buy BURNED WIRE.
    • We do not buy LOOSE CATALYTIC CONVERTERS.
    • We do not buy ALUMINUM/COPPER COILS AND RADIATORS (unless the seller presents an unexpired contractor’s, electrician’s, or plumber’s STATE LICENSE—note that an EPA license cannot be used).

When selling SCRAP VEHICLES: State law requires that the seller of an uncrushed vehicle present the TITLE for each vehicle that is 12 model years and newer. The title must be in the name of the person who is selling the vehicle.  Before we can buy the vehicle, we must get an authorization number from the State of Alabama. If for any reason the State website is down, we have to wait until it is back up before we can finish the transaction. We prefer to get the title to all vehicles, but if the vehicle is over 12 model years old, we can have the customer fill out an affidavit of ownership.

HIGHLIGHTS OF 2008 TENNESSEE LAW REGULATING THE PURCHASE OF SCRAP METAL

Download PDF

(This is meant only as a guide to the highlights of this law, not as legal advice.  We make no guarantee as to the accuracy of this information. Neither TVR nor any of its employees is able give legal advice.  This information is subject to change without notice.)

TVR operates its Pulaski, TN location in full compliance with this law.

To sell scrap metal in Tennessee, you must be over 18 years old. You must present a VALID state or federal photo ID – a state-issued driver’s license, a state-issued non-driver’s ID, or a valid work authorization card issued by US Immigration Services. Other federally-issued photo ID may also be acceptable. The driver’s license or non-driver’s ID must be from one of the fifty states.

We are required to make an impression of each seller’s right thumbprint.

TVR CAN BUY ALUMINUM COPPER RADIATORS ONLY FROM A “LICENSED HVAC CONTRACTOR”

This means a person or company that “holds a license from the state board for licensing contractors with a CMC, MC, CMC-C, or MC-C classification.” We cannot make any exceptions to this legal requirement. We can pay by check only mailed to the business address or personal address in the case of a licensed individual.

Purchase of Scrap Copper

From a business:  We must pay for the copper by check, made payable to the business, which we will mail to the business address on the day of the transaction or the next day.
From an individual:  We may pay by check or by voucher. If you request a check, we must make the check payable to the person who sold us the copper, and mail it to the address of the seller as listed on his or her ID. If you request cash payment, we will give you a voucher.  You may exchange this voucher for cash at our office after a five-day waiting period. State law requires that payment for all vouchers not cashed within six months of the transaction be sent to the State of Tennessee.
Note that the rules are different when we are purchasing from another licensed scrap metal dealer. Check with us for details.

These are some of the items that TVR cannot buy from the general public:

    • Scrap metal marked with the initials of a utility, cable company, or telephone company. Scrap metal visibly marked with the name of a governmental entity, a business, company, or with the name of its owner.
    • Utility access covers.
    • Street light poles and fixtures.
    • Road and bridge guard rails.
    • Highway and street signs.
    • Water meter covers.
    • Traffic directional and control signs.
    • Traffic light signals.
    • Railroad iron and other scrap from a railroad.
    • Beer kegs.
    • Property marked with the name of any public utility or railroad.
    • Historical markers, grave markers or vases.
    • We do not buy LOOSE CATALYTIC CONVERTERS.

When selling SCRAP VEHICLES:  State law requires that the seller of an uncrushed vehicle present the TITLE for each vehicle that is less than 10 model years old. The title must be in the name of the person who is selling the vehicle.

For vehicles 10 years and older that are presented without a title, there is other paperwork we are required to complete.


^